The Hurstville Security and Neighborhood Improvement District (District) Board is a special taxing district of the State of Louisiana.  It is governed by a Board of nine Commissioners.  By law, all commissioners must live within the boundaries of the District.  Five of these members are appointed by The Hurstville Neighborhood Association and the other four are appointed by each of the following elected officials: one by the current mayor, one by the Councilperson from District A, one by the current State Senator whose senate district covers the majority of the District and one by the State representative whose representative district covers the majority of the District.

Hurstville falls with the 2nd District of the NOPD and Council District A.